The M4 Sport – Sportsman of the Year Gala was a great success!

The M4 Sport – Sportsman of the Year Gala was a great success!

M4 SPORT – Sportsman of the Year Gala in the National Theater was a great success, which was organized by the DUNA Incentives, Training & Events, accredited by of the Hungarian Sports Journalists’ Association.

More than 650 guests have seen on the spot the awards ceremony of the M4 Sport – Sportsman of the Year Gala 2016 at the National Theater.

The Hungarian Sports Journalists Association selected the best of the past year for the 59th time. The final sequence formed after the sports journalists’ votes – record: 370 members voted. The show was broadcast live by M4 Sport, the two hosts were Judit Berkesi and István Kovács Kokó.

There were great performances at the luxurious Gala, performed by Supergirls featuring Mystery Gang, Cimbaliband and Dora Danics, Adrienn Bánhegyi and Kata Bánhegyi, Dancers and Stars of the Operetta Theater, Peller Mariann and Attila Dolhai, accompanied by Denyes Dániel Chamber Orchestra and Kowalsky and Vega. At the beginning of the Gala, the Hymn was signed by Andrea Rost, accompanied by MH Vital Sándor Szurmay Budapest Battalion.

Raising the prestige of the event, the awarders were Pál Schmitt, who is two times Olympic champion, former President of the Republic, László Szabó the president of Hungarian Paralympics Committee, Olympic bronze medalist and State Secretary for Sport Dr. Tünde Szabó, CL winner and WC silver medalist Claude Makelele and Tamás Kásás three-time Olympic champion water polo player. The event was also honored as an awarder by Eduard Károly Novák, Romanian Paralympic, World and European Champion cyclist, Sándor Csányi, HFA Chairman, Antal Kovács Olympic and World Champion Trainer, Ferenc Kovács former UEFA Cup silver medalist football coach, Gianni Merlo Chairman of AIPS, Csisztu Zsuzsa the vice president of HJSA, former Hungarian champion gymnast, Katalin Kovács three-time Olympic champion kayak, Lídia Dömölky Olympic champion fencer, Dr. Kiss Gergely three-time Olympic champion water polo player, and György Szöllősi chairman of HJSA.

The Sportsman of the Year award winners in 2016:

  • Disabled Sportsman of the Year: Tamás Tóth (swimming)
  • Disabled Sportswoman of the Year: Zsuzsanna Krajnyák (Wheelchair Fencer)
  • The coach of the Year for Disabled Sportsmen: Sándor Beliczay (Richárd Osváth, Éva Hajmási, wheelchair fencer)
  • The Disabled Team of the Year: Women’s Wheelchair Fencing Team
  • Sportsman of the Year: Áron Szilágyi (fencing)
  • Sportswoman of the Year: Hosszú Katinka (swimming)
  • Coach of the Year: Shane Tusup (Katinka Hosszú)
  • Team of the Year: Men’s Football Election
  • The Footballer of the Year: Gábor Király
  • Women’s Footballer of the Year: Zsanett Jakabfi (Non Voting, Winner of the Year Award for HFA)
  • Goal of the Year: Zoltán Gera
  • HFA Lifetime Achievement Award: János Göröcs
  • HJSA-MOC Life Achievement Award: Győző Kulcsár

You can see more pictures from the Gala on the official Facebook page of the event and on the HJSA web site!